Tuesday, May 10, 2022

#BooksonTour #TheFamilyILost #AliMercer #Bookouture #NetGalley

 

There are two little girls in the photo. I instantly recognise myself as the small, dark-haired child in the purple dress. But who is the girl with the long blonde hair laughing at the camera? And why is the photograph here, in a stranger’s house?

When I find the tattered picture hidden away at the back of a dusty cupboard in 
Amy’s house my mouth goes dry with shock. Though I haven’t known Amy for very long, I love looking after her children, in her perfect hilltop house with its sprawling garden. After feeling lost for months, reeling from the accident that tore everything apart, I hoped this was my chance to turn my life around.

But I can’t shake the feeling that I’ve been here before. I know this house somehow, the curve of the staircase and the view from the attic window are so familiar. I can feel it in my bones. What isn’t she telling me?

I can’t help noticing things that don’t add up: Amy’s guarded behaviour when I ask questions about her past, the whispered stories I overhear in the village and the locked room downstairs I’m not allowed to enter.

My mother always told me we didn’t have any family, that it was just the two of us against the world. I’ve always been sure she was hiding something. Finding the photograph, I thought I had it all figured out. But the truth is far worse than I could ever have imagined…

Am I ready to unlock the secrets of my past? Or should I have stayed well away?

A gripping and emotional novel about a dark family secret and the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters. An unputdownable page-turner for fans of Amanda Prowse, Susan Lewis and Kerry Fisher.


Buy Links:       

 

https://geni.us/B09VH9VCB4social


AUDIBLE: 


UK: http://ow.ly/62yH50IVH38

US: http://ow.ly/uxWM50IVH36


LISTEN HERE: http://ow.ly/fOsJ50IVH37 


Author Bio:

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the show business newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.

Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story, but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

 

Author Social Media Links:

For updates and pictures, follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer) or Instagram (@alimercerwriter), or on her Facebook page (AliMercerwriter)


The Family I Lost

Written By

Ali Mercer

Review By

Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews


First, I want to thank Ali Mercer, Bookouture and NetGalley for providing me with this book so I can bring you this review. 


WOW!!! Ali Mercer always writes a good story that pulls hard on my heart string! The Family I Lost was no exception. However, she wrote a very deep, dark, intense, suspenseful and tragic storyline on many different levels this time around. You will find yourself quickly addicted to the story and not able to put it down! This definitely a book you will want to add to your TBR list as it is a 5 star book! 


The graphic artists did a beautiful job with the cover. Between the cover, my love for the author, and the description of the book I knew I just had to read it. After reading it and looking at the cover it gave me goosebumps! The cover was just so spot on! 


Ali takes us on a winding roller coaster ride of emotions in The Family I Lost. For a good portion of it I was on the edge of my seat biting my already short nails dying to know how it was going to unfold. So many secrets and totally heart wrenching revelations! 


My heart just broke for Lisa who lost more than she knew she ever had! So many times I wanted to jump in and give her a big hug. 



No comments:

Post a Comment