Heidi Lynn's Book Reviews (heidilynnsbookreviews@gmail.com)

Passionate reader who’s compassionate about giving back to authors who create incredible stories that help me escape reality. My reviews are honest, genuine and detailed. Genre’s I will consider Psychological Thrillers, Domestic Thrillers, True Crime, Medical Memoirs, Medical Thrillers, Woman’s Contemporary, Romance Suspense, YA (Romance and Medical themed), Holiday Books, LBGTQ, and Tear Jerkers

Friday, May 7, 2021

#BreakTheStone #BookBlitz #CassieSwindon #XpressoTours

 

Break the Stone
Cassie Swindon
(Golden Chains, #1)
Publication date: May 7th 2021
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense, Young Adult

Raelyn Bell’s father forces them to flee their quaint town, severing the last connection to her dead mother. Now, desperate and alone. But she won’t give up. In a new town, Raelyn defies Pa’s wishes by investigating the truth of her mother’s death. Only the answers will help her fill the void plaguing her heart.

Meanwhile, U.S. Army Specialist Kody Walsh’s duty is to obey orders, no matter how “gray.” His questionable actions lead him straight to Raelyn. If Kody aids in Raelyn’s quest, it could mean game over for his career.

As the two cut through layers of lies, threats, ambushes, and stalkers, their bond grows stronger. But the dangers prove worse than they ever feared. Can they see this journey through without losing their lives—and each other?

Break the Stone is a suspenseful mystery, perfect for fans of fast-paced storylines and heart-pounding romance. It is the first of three books in the Golden Chains series.

Content is for age 17+ with trigger warnings of mild: PTSD, profanity, sexual content, and violence.

Goodreads / Amazon

#BookBlitz #FallingforAnotherDarcy #KateOKeeffe #XpressoTours

 

Falling for Another Darcy
Kate O’Keeffe
(Love Manor, #3)
Publication date: May 5th 2021
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Women’s Fiction

Don’t miss this laugh-out-loud, heart-warming final instalment in the Love Manor romantic comedy series for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series, SinĂ©ad Moriarty, and Bridget Jones’s Diary.

First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes baby in the baby carriage. Right?

That’s the way the song goes, anyway. For Emma Brady, marrying her Mr. Darcy was a road to happiness that is about to take a sharp turn to trouble. Creating a tiny Mr. Darcy isn’t exactly proving to be easy. Sure, being newly-weds mean they’re more than happy to give it a good shot, but as time ticks along, Emma and Sebastian’s efforts come to nothing.

It’s time to call in the big guns.

For Emma, that means mood swings, hot flashes, ovulation kits, and more needles than a haystack. Add that to an increasingly-disapproving granny, and Sebastian and Emma’s love is being put to the test in a way they never saw coming.

Will they get the family they so desperately want? And will their love survive? Or will Emma’s fairy tale ending with her Mr. Darcy slip between her fingers?

Goodreads / Amazon

#BookBlitz #TheJob #CaraDee #XpressoTours

 

The Job
Cara Dee
Publication date: May 7th 2021
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

With the help of their ball-busting daughter, some questionable morals, and an important job to get done, Casey and Boone will steal you away to the grit and glitz of Las Vegas in this fast-paced romance.

I’m not supposed to do this job without Boone.

We may not share genes, but it’s been us against the world since his mom took me in as a toddler. The rowdy O’Sullivan boys who raised all the hell that Vegas could handle. Not that all my memories are wild and make my heart race. After all, I realized I was in love with the bastard at some point, so there’s been plenty of pathetic yearning and jealousy too.

Even so, it’s been him and me. Brothers, partners in crime, and, for the past six years, co-parents to an amazing little girl. But that’s another story. Right now, I gotta focus on the job our cousin gave us, and I need Boone by my side.

The problem is we haven’t really been on speaking terms for four years now.

This story takes place in Cara Dee’s Camassia Cove Universe, a fictional town where all books stand on their own, unless otherwise stated, and the reader can jump in wherever they want.

Goodreads / Amazon

#CoverReveal #HowToSurviveaModerdDayFairyTale #ElleCruz #XpressoTours

 

How to Survive a Modern-Day Fairy Tale
Elle Cruz
Published by: Entangled: Amara
Publication date: November 30th 2021
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

This is no ordinary Cinderella story from #OwnVoices debut author Elle Cruz. Claire never believed in fairy tales—that is, until she met Nate—in this fun, flirty rom-com.

Claire Ventura is nothing like the poised and perfect heroines she reads about in her favorite romance novels. She’s a quirky, people-pleasing bookworm with a degree in Women’s Studies and an internet cookie decorator all rolled into a five-foot-two package fueled by chamomile tea.

And most of all, Claire loves her grandmother, Lola. Claire was always her favorite grandchild, and they shared a special bond. So when Lola inches into her nineties and Alzheimer’s starts chipping away at the vital and independent woman she used to be, the whole family dynamic starts shifting in a new direction.

Then Claire meets Nate, the CEO of a mega tech company, and he takes her to Paris. Hailed as the next Mark Zuckerberg, Nate is a fast-rising star in the tech industry, and he’s just fallen head-over-heels for Claire. Together, Claire and Nate must learn to navigate their personal and professional lives and, in the end, Nate proves to Claire that fairytale endings are really just the beginning.

Add to Goodreads

Wednesday, May 5, 2021

#Blogtour #Glasshouse #MorwennaBlackwood #DarkstrokeBooks #RachelsRandomResources


 

Glasshouse

Now if I carry out this oath, and break it not, may I gain for ever reputation among all men for my life and for my art; but if I break it and forswear myself, may the opposite befall me.
~ from the Hippocratic Oath (translated by WHS Jones)


Psychiatrists, Drs Whittle and Grosvenor, have dedicated their lives to helping their patients, but their approach, and the complications it reveals, lead them into relationships that harm not only themselves. 


As their lives entangle, both men find that doing no harm is not as cut-and-dried as they perceived.


Can the patients in their care really trust them? Or are more sinister motives at work?


Delve into the dark world of psychiatric institutions where doctors and residents play a dangerous game where no one is infallible!


Purchase Link - http://mybook.to/glasshousenovel

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

#5DayMiniBlitz #SecondChanceAtFirstLove #ZoeAllison #RachelsRandomResources

 

Second Chance at First Love


Eva Mathers is a successful woman, except for when it comes to matters of the heart. When she returns home to Yorkshire as a pending divorcee, she realises her childhood friend and first love Damon Evans is also newly single. It’s a pity he’s never noticed her romantically and had no idea that she was in love with him at school. But at least they can support each other as friends again.


Damon is attempting to adjust to life sharing the kids with his ex. His reconnection with Eva is strong, but she was always too good for him and made her indifference clear after they drifted apart during their younger years. In any case, she still seems to be hung up on her charismatic ex-husband. Eva is hiding things from Damon, secrets from her past. He wants to be there for her, so why can’t she let him in?


Eva is dealing with trauma, but she won’t confide in her loved ones. Can Damon help her break down her walls before it’s too late and they miss their second chance at first love?


Purchase Links 

UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Second-Chance-First-Love-Loves-ebook/dp/B08W5BG1M5

US - https://www.amazon.com/Second-Chance-First-Love-Loves-ebook/dp/B08W5BG1M5

#BookBlitz #TextWars #WhitneyDineen #MelanieSummers #XpressoTours

 

Text Wars: May the Text be With You …
Whitney Dineen & Melanie Summers
Publication date: May 4th 2021
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance

May the text be with you…

Seraphina Lopez is not your typical airy-fairy astrology fanatic. First and foremost, she’s a businesswoman who happens to have a fascination with the stars. Her lifestyle app, “Live for Your Star Sign” is blowing up, and when she’s asked to be a guest on New York’s most watched Morning Show, she knows the exposure will launch her app into the stratosphere.

Astrophysicist Ben Williams just landed his dream job at NASA’s Goddard Institute, Not only is he heading a multi-disciplinary team in search of habitable exo-planets, he’s also been tapped to be the spokesman for the project. While he’d much rather be crunching the numbers to pinpoint the location of Earth II, he also has to sell the concept to the American public.

When Seraphina and Ben meet on the set of the Morning Show, sparks fly! Sera is there to show viewers how to dress for their star sign. Ben is there in the name of science. Their explosive chemistry sets records for the network’s viewing audience. As such they’re asked to host a regular segment–together.

Ben and Sera hate each other so much, they resort to texting instead of talking when they’re off air (and sometimes on). Yet somewhere in the haze of dislike, they start to realize they have more in common than they thought possible. Is love written in the stars or will it burn up on impact?

Find out in the Text Wars, the third installment of the deliciously funny and romantic Accidentally in Love Series.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

Ben

Once I’m dragged off into the Green Room with all the gorgeous women, I sneak a peek at myself in one of the full-length mirrors propped against the wall. Who am I? And where is astrophysicist Ben Williams under all that hair gel and bronzer? This is going to be the single most humiliating experience of my life. Not only am I dressed like a banana for his first day of school, my manhood is on display like it’s about to be auctioned off to the highest bidder. How is anyone going to take me seriously?

They won’t. That’s how.

Not to mention, everyone I know, including my co-workers, will be watching. NOOOO!!! I have to stop this. Panic starts to build inside of me until my chest cavity feels like it’s about to explode.

The bossy woman who made me take my underwear off loudly declares, “You all look great! This is going to be an amazing show!”

I have no idea what she’s talking about, but I don’t have time to ask because someone else comes in and says, “You’re on next. Follow me.”

I tug at these ridiculous pants in hopes they’ll magically grow three sizes and turn black. Or a nice brown, even. That would be good too. Although I don’t know if brown would go with this awful green vest.

Oh, for pity’s sake, Ben, it doesn’t matter! Your pants aren’t going to change color so forget it. Unless …what if I change into normal pants? Yes, that’s the answer. As we march down the hall and pass my dressing room, I decide I’m going to put on my own clothes no matter what anyone says. As I open the door to dressing room three, I hear Serafina demand, “Where are you going?”

She doesn’t wait for an answer. Instead, she takes my hand and leads me to the third spot in line. “There. You’re right behind our Taurus.”

Grinning broadly, she says, “Okay, everyone, you look fabulous. Just get out there and strut your fine selves.”

Strut my fine self? What in the world is she talking about?

“Listen, I-I think there’s been a mistake,” I call out to her.

“I know, the pants aren’t exactly the right fit, but you can really get away with it, trust me.” She boldly winks which causes me even more distress.

“No, not that …”

That Justin intern rushes over and says, “Ms. Lopez, you’re on!”

I try to get his attention, but he disappears, leaving me with no one to ask for help. I wait for what feels like forever, but I’m sure is only a couple of minutes, before Justin comes back and starts to lead us backstage. “When I point to you, walk onto the stage, turn left at the X, strut down the catwalk toward the studio audience. Pause for a count of two, then spin back around and go out the other way.”

He points to the woman in front of me. As she goes, I watch her carefully, trying to memorize what she’s doing. Okay, that doesn’t look so hard. It’s just walking, right? I can walk. Do they introduce all of their guests like this? My confusion equals my horror. I should have watched an episode of this show, so I knew what I was getting into.

When the woman turns back my way, she’s not smiling. Are we not supposed to smile? Do we pout? Yes, pouting seems right. How do you pout?

Turning to the woman behind me, I say, “Does this look right?” then I push my lips out and try to look like I’m really angry about something. Which is actually true because I’m going to lose it on Dev when I see him.

She wrinkles up her nose and answers, “You look like you’re trying to poop.”

Well, that was rude. I’m trying to learn. I give her a glare and she snaps her fingers. “Perfect! Now you’ve got some serious smolder going on.”

“Gemini Guy! Gemini Guy!” Justin whisper-yells.

I spin around, realizing he means me. He points to the stage wearing a completely disgusted look. As I walk by, I hear him say something about models with rocks for brains into his headset. Models? I’m not a model.

My heart is thumping like a rabbit surrounded by a pack of bears as I walk, trying to keep time with the music which is some airy-fairy crap that doesn’t even have a beat. That bossy Serafina person is sitting on a chair next to the show’s hosts talking … about me … it turns out.

“Geminis absolutely love to be the center of attention, almost to a fault. They’re known to be intelligent, passionate, fun, but also sometimes unreliable and are even called flighty.”

I keep walking toward center stage while I glare at her, causing me to miss the big X on the floor.

“As you can see, our model truly is a flighty Gemini. He just missed his mark.”

I hate this woman. I hate her with every cell of my being.

Hal lets out a laugh. “Other way, buddy!”

“Wow, those are some tight pants!” Lacey inserts. “I can see his center of attention!”

The audience laughs as I scramble to find the damn X. It’s actually quite large and is in bright green tape, so it’s pretty hard to miss. I stalk down the catwalk feeling like a piece of poorly-dressed meat. The audience—mainly older women—start to hoot and whistle and, I swear to God, one woman is waving a five-dollar bill at me.

How the hell did I end up here? I have my PhD. I work for NASA.

I head back toward the hosts while that awful Serafina woman talks about astrology. I’m so busy trying to make sure I land on the X this time I almost don’t hear Hal say, “Geminis really must be flighty because our other guest, Dr. Ben Williams, didn’t bother to show up for Star Day. I understand he’s a Gemini as well.”

I stop in my tracks and stare at him, sweat trickling down my back.

Hal looks at me while making a scooting gesture with his hands. “You can go now.”

Astrology girl gives me an urgent head nod toward the exit. Now is my only chance to fix what has gone terribly, terribly wrong. “I’m Ben Williams.”

All three of them stare at me like I’ve just said I’m from planet Zorbits. Lacey gives me a sympathetic look, as though she feels so bad for the male model who’s so dumb he doesn’t know his own name. “Um, no. Ben Williams is a rocket scientist. You’re a model.” She says this slowly like it’s the only way I’ll be able to understand her.

I wait while the audience has a good laugh at my expense while ignoring Justin and some other woman with a headset who are frantically waving at me. “I’m not a rocket scientist.”

Giving me a condescending look, Hal says, “We know you’re not, buddy. But you’re still special, okay? Now, off you go!”

The fashion show music stops, and the audience becomes so still you’d think they were waiting for me to perform a magic show. Off to the side, I see two security guards at the ready. I swallow hard, then keep going. “There’s no such thing as a rocket scientist,” I say. “What you’re thinking of is actually called an aeronautical engineer or an astronautical engineer. Rocket scientist is a dumbed down word for the job.”

“Wow,” Lacey says, blinking at me. “You know a lot about rocket science.”

I shut my eyes at her inane statement, then open them and say, “That’s because I’m an astrophysicist.”

The astrology “expert” (and I’m using that term lightly) seems to be the first one of the three geniuses to figure out who I am. “Wait, if you’re Dr. Williams, why are you masquerading as a male model?”

Author Bio:

Whitney loves to laugh, play with her kids, bake, and eat french fries -- not always in that order.

Whitney is a multi-award-winning author of romcoms, non-fiction humor, and middle reader fiction. Basically, she writes whatever the voices in her head tell her to.

She lives in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with her husband, Jimmy, where they raise children, chickens, and organic vegetables.

Gold Medal winner at the International Readers' Favorite Awards, 2017.

Silver medal winner at the International Readers' Favorite Awards, 2015, 2016.

Finalist RONE Awards, 2016.

Finalist at the IRFA 2016, 2017.

Finalist at the Book Excellence Awards, 2017

Finalist Top Shelf Indie Book Awards, 2017

Author links
Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

--

Melanie Summers also writes steamy romance as MJ Summers.

Melanie made a name for herself with her debut novel, Break in Two, a contemporary romance that cracked the Top 10 Paid on Amazon in both the UK and Canada, and the top 50 Paid in the USA. Her highly acclaimed Full Hearts Series was picked up by both Piatkus Entice (a division of Hachette UK) and HarperCollins Canada. Her first three books have been translated into Czech and Slovak by EuroMedia. Since 2013, she has written and published three novellas, and eight novels (of which seven have been published). She has sold over a quarter of a million books around the globe.

In her previous life (i.e. before having children), Melanie got her Bachelor of Science from the University of Alberta, then went on to work in the soul-sucking customer service industry for a large cellular network provider that shall remain nameless (unless you write her personally - then she'll dish). On her days off, she took courses and studied to become a Chartered Mediator. That designation landed her a job at the R.C.M.P. as the Alternative Dispute Resolution Coordinator for 'K' Division. Having had enough of mediating arguments between gun-toting police officers, she decided it was much safer to have children so she could continue her study of conflict in a weapon-free environment (and one which doesn't require makeup and/or nylons).

Melanie resides in Edmonton with her husband, three young children, and their adorable but neurotic one-eyed dog. When she's not writing novels, Melanie loves reading (obviously), snuggling up on the couch with her family for movie night (which would not be complete without lots of popcorn and milkshakes), and long walks in the woods near her house. She also spends a lot more time thinking about doing yoga than actually doing yoga, which is why most of her photos are taken 'from above'. She also loves shutting down restaurants with her girlfriends. Well, not literally shutting them down, like calling the health inspector or something--more like just staying until they turn the lights off.

She is represented by Suzanne Brandreth of The Cooke Agency International.

Author links
Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Monday, May 3, 2021

#CoverReveal #DamagedBride #BookOne #BlakeYork #BloodEmpire #XpressoTours

 

Damaged Bride
Blake York
(Blood Empire Series, #1)
Publication date: May 20th 2021
Genres: Adult, Dark Romance, Romance

Nobody will touch what belongs to us, including the women we claim.

Brutal. Fierce. Relentless.

Everything I do I do for my family name.

Now they’re giving me another task—take the bride my father chooses for me. They call it business. I call it revenge. Only one empire with mafia ties can rule.

I’ll use her as a pawn. Break her down. She’s already damaged from the life she’s led. But then something happens.

She rises from the ashes…and learns how to break me too.

**A hero with an out-of-control possessive streak and the woman forced to be his bride. The claws come out, but the surrender is so sweet… DAMAGED BRIDE is a novella-length romance and first in the Blood Empire Series. Happily Ever After? You’ll have to take a chance.**

Add to Goodreads / Pre-order

#BookBlitz #DefinatelyNotDating #ChristiBarth #XpressoTours

 

Definitely Not Dating
Christi Barth
(Love Lottery #2)
Published by: Tule Publishing
Publication date: May 4th 2021
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance

It’s a chance to start over for both of them…

Everleigh Girard always dates the wrong men at the worst times. The last debacle cost her a job and an apartment. But thanks to a crazy lottery win, she and her friends have a fresh start restoring a historic inn. Determined to make it a success, Everleigh swears off the dangers of dating entirely. Except…the town’s police chief is distractingly hot. So how much trouble could friends with benefits really cause?

Police chief Matt Halliday always puts protecting his town first. He’s blindsided when his house mysteriously burns down, and grateful his friends rent him a room at their inn while they finish renovations. It’s a great deal. Mostly. It’s hard to resist the very beautiful Everleigh. Love is permanently off the table for him—but lust is definitely on.

After their first red-hot kiss, keeping it casual is impossible. Can Everleigh teach Matt to trust again—especially when he’s keeping a secret that may put him and his new friends at risk?

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

#BookBlitz #AdultSupervisionRequired #SarahPeis #XpressoTours

 

Adult Supervision Required
Sarah Peis
Publication date: May 6th 2021
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance

Nora Lindberg doesn’t let life get her down. Disowned by her family and left by the man who was supposed to love her for the rest of their lives, she packs up her kids and goes in search of a second chance.

The small town she lands in was supposed to be her fresh start, her chance at a better life. But instead, she’s a broke single mom who spends her nights looking for the chocolate she hid from her kids.

When her ex lands on the local Motorcycle club’s most wanted list and leads them straight to her door, her life is once again turned upside down.

But maybe a broody hot guy on a motorcycle is just the thing she never asked for but got anyway.

Now the only question is: Will he be her savior or her downfall?

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Sunday, May 2, 2021

#BooksonTour #TheLiarsDaughter #RonaHalsall #Bookouture #NetGalley

The call comes on an ordinary Sunday afternoon to say your sister has been admitted to hospital with a serious head injury. But you don’t have a sister… do you?

 

You’ve never doubted your parents. You’ve loved them without question your whole life. But your stepmother is uncharacteristically speechless, and your father isn’t well enough to understand.

 

So you get in your car.

 

Turn the key in the ignition.

 

Knowing everything behind you is a lie.

 

Not knowing what lies ahead: the truth… or something far darker?

 

A deliciously dark and twisty tale of deception, secrets and family ties, The Liar’s Daughter is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs.

 

*Previously titled: The Missing Sister


Buy Links

Amazon: http://ow.ly/WwuC50DCmfc

Apple: http://ow.ly/QI0j50DCmnJ

Kobo: http://ow.ly/Jb8f50DCmlU

Google: http://ow.ly/OHa550DDmxK  

Saturday, May 1, 2021

#BooksonTour #HerFirstMistake #CareyBaldwin #Bookouture #NetGalley

Mia covered her mouth to keep from crying out. She hated the dark, but her mother had made her promise. But what was the point of being a good little girl if she couldn’t help her mother? She’d promised her mother not to scream, but she hadn’t promised not to escape


To the world, Mia Thornton is invisible—a quiet, timid preschool teacher. People would never guess that she found the will to dig her way out of a locked shed when she was just six years old. That she never saw her mother again.

Now, all Mia longs for is a normal life and friends to call her own. But when she runs into a group of colleagues one evening, she discovers that, once again, she’s been excluded. Stung at the rejection, she pockets the keys of one of the women in a petty act of revenge. Celeste Cooper is fearless, pretty, popular—everything Mia wishes she could be.

The next day, Celeste is reported missing. And Mia realizes that it might have been her fault. Wracked with guilt, she joins the search, determined to make up for her mistake. But as she grows closer to Celeste’s family, Mia can’t help but feel she’s being watched

#BlogTour #KeepMySecrets #ElanaWilkes #HeraBooks #NetGalley #BOTBSPUBLICITY


 A life built on lies – now the truth could destroy her

Frankie Turner knows what it's like to be unwanted; she was brought up in care. Now as a social worker to kids in the same system, she’s someone who understands ... But Frankie is hiding an unthinkable secret: one that may have its roots in the murder of a young, beautiful woman fifteen years ago.

Yet the past is out there. Someone knows what Frankie is hiding – and now they’re back to shatter her perfectly constructed life, terrorising her with menacing letters and silent calls to the house she shares with husband Alex.

She may have reinvented herself, but Frankie’s past is back to haunt her – and now, there’s nowhere to run.

A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Erin Kelly won’t be able to put this one down.


Author Bio:

Elena Wilkes grew up in Walsall in the West Midlands and then worked for eighteen years in H.M Prison Service. The people she met there provided the basis for all her novels.

Many of the prisoners there came across as very ordinary people who had committed the most appalling crimes but would, one day, walk straight back on the streets.

This begged the question: how much do we know about anyone, really? The people who live amongst us may seem no different from us at all, but when you scratch a little deeper, you realise they hold some very dark secrets.

Twitter: @Elenathrillers

Facebook: @elenawilkesthrillers


Keep My Secrets 

Written By

Elena Wilkes

Review By

Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews


First, I want to thank Elana Wilkes, Hera Books, NetGalley and BOTBSPUBLICITY for providing me with this book so I can bring you this review.


Can you Keep My Secret?! Shh don’t tell anyone!! WOW!! OH!! WOW!! Elana Wilkes Book was a continuous thrill ride that wouldn’t let you get off!! It was GOOD!!!


Oh Elana you hooked me right from the prologue!! Intensely fast paced with your extremely vivid graphic detailed scene. In fact you described what my head feels like during a migraine attack. Well done hooking me into your book.


I’m a huge fan of The Black Eyed Peas song featuring Justin Timberlake with Where Is The Love so I was over the moon to see that referenced in the book. Now I have that song stuck in my head!


My heart was literally in my chest as I was incredibly as fearful during the road stalking scene. Every thought Frankie felt I was feeling too! Such an intense scene. Who would be so sick and twisted to want to hurt her?!


Elana address the issue of suicide but in a very special way that I have never seen an author do before. It was refreshing that she did it this way but took me off guard. I commend her for bringing light to this subject this way. 


Alex was not my favorite character in this book as he rubbed me the wrong way right off the bat. 





Friday, April 30, 2021

#BookRelease #BookExcerpt #JoyofLiving #HowToSlayStressandBeHappy #BarryShore #FarrowCommunications #NonFiction #HealthyLiving #Emotions #MentalHealth #JournalWorkbookMemoir #MotivationalSelfHelp SelfImprovement #JoyofLivingInstitutePublishing


 NEW BOOK IS AN INTERACTIVE GUIDE TO 

STRESS RELIEF & HAPPINESS


“The JOY of Living”


JOURNAL + MEMOIR + ACTIVITY BOOK


JOY is that special quality that makes one healthier, wealthier, and wiser. And who doesn’t want that? But a joyful outlook is a tough thing to muster in the post-pandemic age of economic decline and social unrest. Fortunately, a new book is bringing hope and timely actionable advice people can use to better their lives in the post-COVID era.


The JOY of Living: How to Slay Stress and Be Happy"



#BlogTour #EveryLittleBreath #KeriBeevis #RachelsRandomResources


 

Every Little Breath

How much could one phone call change your life?

‘Only you can save her. If she dies, it is your fault.’

When radio presenter, Casey Fallon, answers a call she assumes it is a prank. But then a woman’s body is discovered, and she finds herself up against a cruel and calculating killer who wants her to find his victims before they take their last breath.

Fifteen years ago, Casey was a key witness in the trial of serial killer, Steve Noakes, and her evidence helped put him behind bars for the murders of five women.

Someone remembers what happened that summer. Someone who is desperate for revenge. Someone who won’t stop until Casey has been punished.

#PublicationDayPush #TheSingleMumsBookClub #VictoriaCooke #HQDigital #NetGalley #RachelsRandomResources


 

The Single Mums’ Book Club


Three friends, three single mums, one quest to find love…

It’s 8:30am and I’m already utterly exhausted. My son has lost his football boots, my daughter is ready for school dressed only in her vest and knickers, and of course, my 1-year-old has filled his nappy for what feels like the tenth time this morning.

As for my husband? He’s decided marriage doesn’t suit him, and well… buggered off.

All hope of ‘me time’ has but dwindled to sipping half a glass of wine whilst shouting after the kids. But everything is about to change.

I’m taking control of my life! I’ve joined… a book club.

Thursday, April 29, 2021

#CoverReveal #NannyNeeded #GeorginaCross #Bantam #PenguinRandomHouse


It's the exciting Cover Reveal for NANNY NEEDED by Georgina Cross! This is unlike any nanny book you've read before. Hear why they're calling it: ORIGINAL CREEPY & FUN: It's Gossip Girl meets Rebecca in a wildly compulsive take on the gothic suspense novel. Readers will peer behind penthouse walls for a glimpse of how the other side lives, and will be sucked in by the irresistibly creepy atmosphere.

NANNY NEEDED
A young woman takes a job as a nanny for a wealthy family, thinking she's found her entree into a better only only to discover instead she's walked into a world of deception and dark secrets.

The ad reads: Nanny needed. Discretion is of the utmost importance. Special conditions apply.

When Sarah Larsen sees the exclusive address on the ad, she tells herself she's found her ticket out of a life of long hours waiting tables for little pay. At the interview, the job seems like a dream come true: a glamorous penthouse apartment on the Upper West Side; a salary that adds several zeroes to her current income; the beautiful, worldly mother of her charge, who feels more like a friend than a potential boss. She's overjoyed when they offer her the position, signing the NDA without a second thought. These are important people after all-- they can't be too careful about who they hire. 

In retrospect, the notice in her lobby was less an engraved invitation than a waving red flag. For there is something strange about the Bird family. Why does the beautiful Mrs. Bird never leave the apartment alone? And what happened to the nanny before her who disappeared under mysterious circumstances? It soon becomes clear that the odd behaviors Sarah initially dismissed as the eccentricities of the wealthy are hiding something much darker and more sinister. But by then it's too late for Sarah to seek help--she's become complicit in their secrets. And, after all, discretion is of the utmost importance.

NANNY NEEDED publishes on October 5 with Bantam, Penguin Random House, and is available for pre-order: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/670047/nanny-needed-by-georgina-cross/

Please add it to your Goodreads shelf: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56637964-nanny-needed

Nanny Needed on pre-order here!
The Missing Woman is on sale here!
The Stepdaughter is on sale here!


A little bit about me

After graduating from Louisiana State University, I enjoyed a career in television news, marketing & communications and worked 9 years in business development/bid & proposal for an aerospace & defense contractor before joining the Huntsville/Madison County Chamber of Commerce as the Workforce Development Director. I also founded Susie’s Wish non-profit in 2015 which sends patients with life threatening illnesses to the beach, named in honor of our best friend and former TV news reporter Susie Edwards. Married to David, we spend our weekends filled with basketball tournaments, scary movies, and trying new restaurants with our combined family of four sons.

I’m represented by my agent Rachel Beck with Liza Dawson Associates with my suspense appealing to readers of The Good Girl by Mary Kubica, Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell, The Mother-in-Law by Sally Hepworth, and The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle.

I’m the Amazon Bestselling suspense author of THE STEPDAUGHTER and THE MISSING WOMAN published by Bookouture, Hachette Publishing. NANNY NEEDED will release on October 5, 2021, with Bantam, Penguin Random House. Three more books will publish in 2022! Announcements coming soon!



Sign up for my newsletter
Twitter: @GCrossAuthor
Follow me on Goodreads
Follow me on BookBub

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Xpresso Book Tours
 

Heidi Lynn's Book Reviews (heidilynnsbookreviews@gmail.com) Published @ 2014 by Crossroad Reviews